

Maryland Commission for Women

A Commission of the Maryland Department of Human Resources

51 Monroe Street, Ste. 1034 - Rockville, Maryland 20850 301-610-4523 www.marylandwomen.org

2018 Maryland Women of Tomorrow Call for Nominations – DEADLINE EXTENDED

The Maryland Commission for Women and the Women Legislators of the Maryland General Assembly are seeking recommendations of outstanding young women from Maryland for the 2018 Women of Tomorrow Awards.

The Women of Tomorrow Awards program was established in 1997 to recognize young women who have achieved records of academic excellence, extraordinary community service and outstanding leadership. Commissioners Lorna Forde and Carole Jaar Sepe are co-chairing the 2018 Women of Tomorrow.

Schools, individuals and organizations in Maryland are invited to nominate young women for this award. An independent committee representing a cross section of the state will review the nominations and make the final selection of honorees.

The honorees will be recognized at a ceremony in Annapolis in March 2018, when the inductees into the Maryland Women's Hall of Fame will also be honored. Each honoree will receive a beautiful crystal award etched with her name. She will also receive certificates and citations from prominent elected officials.

To submit a nomination for the 2018 Women of Tomorrow Award, please review the attached criteria and instructions, and complete the nomination form. The completed nomination packet and any attachments may be mailed or emailed (preferred) as a single transmission to the office of the Maryland Commission for Women. All nominations must be emailed or postmarked by 5 p.m., Friday, December 1, 2017.

Complete nomination packets should be emailed to:

c4.women@maryland.gov

Or mailed to: **Maryland Commission for Women Attn: Women of Tomorrow Program** 51 Monroe Street, Suite 1034 Rockville, MD 20850

Only complete nomination packets complying fully with the attached instructions will be considered. Please direct any questions to the Commission's office at 301-610-4523.

Mythili "Lee" Bachu Chair

A. Diane Williams Vice Chair

Wandra Ashley-Williams Secretary

Homayara Haque Aziz

Tawanda A. Bailey

Marianne Hyang Nam **Brackney**

Tammy Bresnahan

Deborah L. Cartee

Gloria Chang

Lorna P. Forde

Nicole S. Ingram

Velvet Johnson

Bonnie Nelson Luna

Marion C. Manski

April Nyman

Anita L. Riley

Carole Jaar Sepe

Corinna Yi-Yuan Kuo Shen

Ummu Bradley Thomas

Tamara England Wilson

Marylou N. Yam

Yun Jung Yang



Maryland Commission for Women

A Commission of the Maryland Department of Human Resources

Deadline Extended 2018 Women of Tomorrow Awards Nomination Criteria

Nominees must:

- Currently reside in Maryland, and
- Have lived in the state for at least five years, and
- Be students in grades 6 8 (Middle School) or grades 9 12 (High School), and
- Have demonstrated academic excellence, extraordinary community service and outstanding leadership

Current members of the Maryland General Assembly, Maryland Commission for Women, and members of their families are not eligible for nomination, nor are they eligible to submit nominations.

Individuals may nominate only one candidate each year.

Honorees will be selected by merit, not by endorsement.

Instructions for Submitting Nominations

Complete the nomination packet in full. All materials must be neatly typed and clearly legible. Electronic submissions are preferred.

The nominator should complete sections A, B and C of the packet, and the nominee should complete Section D, the essays. Packets will not be accepted without the nominee's signature under the Pledge of Honor statement.

One letter of recommendation must be included. The letter may not be from the nominator or a family member and must be typed and submitted as part of the nomination packet. Nomination packets may include supporting documents such as news media articles or the student's own work. Please keep all information as concise as possible.

All materials must be submitted on the official forms, in a single packet or transmission, and may not exceed 12 pages. The completed nomination packet and any attachments may be mailed or emailed (preferred) as a single transmission to the office of the Maryland Commission for Women. All nominations must be emailed or postmarked by <u>5 p.m. on Friday, December 1, 2017</u>. Nomination packets that are incomplete, do not comply with the above instructions, or are postmarked after the deadline will not be considered. Nomination packets become the property of the Maryland Commission for Women and will not be returned. Information included in the nomination packet may be published in the program book for the awards ceremony and may be posted on the Maryland Commission for Women's website and other social media.